Gmofreefood’s Weblog


Trader Joe: please say it ain’t so….
August 7, 2010, 11:26 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I am a big fan of Trader Joe’s. It is close to my house and supposedly one of three chains in the US GMO Free.

From the Trader Joe’s web site:

“3. Trader Joe’s Products are Sourced from Non-GMO Ingredients

Our customers can be assured that all products in Trader Joe’s private label are sourced from non-genetically modified ingredients. Our efforts began in 2001, when we determined that, given a choice, our customers would prefer to eat foods and beverages made without the use of genetically engineered ingredients. Our process has been to identify any product containing ingredients that could potentially be derived from genetically engineered crops and work with our suppliers to replace offending ingredients with acceptable alternatives.

Or so I thought.

I was preparing breakfast for my kids and was pouring my youngest one a bowl of “Joe’s O’s” and started reading the label when I was shocked to see that it was made with “Modified Corn Starch”… I will be contacting their Customer Service hot line…

Please, oh please Joe…. tell me it ain’t so….

Modified Corn Starch....

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

